Protective Services

Alberta's hazard season is upon us. If an emergency or disaster affects your area, you may be required to evacuate on short notice.


In these situations, services such as gas stations can be disrupted and roads closed down. Stay ready and informed by:

  • Keeping vehicle tanks full
  • Updating your vehicle emergency kit
  • Downloading the Alberta Emergency Alert app at

For more preparedness content, tools and resources, visit

For feedback on this message, email 





Emergency Services staff in the County serve 14,250 residents and major industries in both rural and urban areas. The County's area of 3,015 square kilometres includes the urban centre of Drayton Valley and the surrounding rural area, acreage developments, farms and other holdings. This includes the Village of Breton, and hamlets of Cynthia, Buck Creek, Lodgepole, Rocky Rapids, and Violet Grove, as well as the surrounding communities of Buck Lake, Alder Flats, Lindale, Birchwood, Alsike, and Winfield.

Brazeau County has extensive Emergency Services system, including 9-1-1 Rural Addressing, medical services, fire permitting, and police services.

Drayton Valley/Brazeau County Fire Services is classified as a Composite Fire Department.